Te Rohe Potae

Claims and geographical area

The Te Rohe Pōtae District Inquiry (Wai 898) involves over 270 Treaty claims. These include iwi and hapū claims, whānau claims, block-specific claims and district-wide claims. A large proportion of the claimants are Ngāti Maniapoto. Other iwi and hapū include Ngāti Kauwhata, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Whanganui groups, Ngāti Hikairo, Ngāti Toa Tupahau, Ngāti Mahanga, Ngāti Hāua, Tainui Awhiro and Ngāti Raukawa.

Te Rohe PotaeThe Rohe Pōtae inquiry district ranges from Whaingaroa Harbour in the north, as far east as Maraeroa and Wharepuhunga blocks, and south to the area just north of Taumarunui. Te Kuiti and Ōtorohanga are towns central to the area. The inquiry district contains many wāhi tapu, such as the caves at Waitomo, and Pirongia Maunga. The Waipā River runs through the inquiry district and is one of several important waterways in the area. Kāwhia, too, is of special significance as the resting place of the Tainui Waka.

Major issues

Major issues in the Rohe Pōtae inquiry include:

  • the Crown's relationship with the Kīngitanga movement
  • the creation of the Rohe Pōtae, and the 1883 petition
  • the construction of the main trunk railway through the district
  • the operation of the Native Land Court
  • the alienation of Māori land in the 19th and 20th centuries
  • the management of Māori land in the twentieth century
  • waterways
  • environmental impacts
  • public works takings

Panel members

Following the passing of the late Judge David Ambler, the Tribunal panel is now presided over by Deputy Chief Judge Caren Fox.

Deputy Chief Judge Caren Fox(external link)

The panel also includes:

Inquiry progress

Hearings concluded in February 2015 and the Rohe Pōtae inquiry is now in the report writing phase.

Find out about:

Document requests:

For all document requests for this inquiry, email: WT_Requests@justice.govt.nz

Inquiry requests:

For all inquiry related requests, email: WT.Registrar@justice.govt.nz

This page was last updated: